CHAIR Faculty

The Chalmers AI Research Centre Faculty consists of researchers from various departments at Chalmers with a shared interest in AI. If this label applies to you, we encourage you to sign up as a CHAIR Faculty member and join in shaping a research community centered around AI.

The aim is for CHAIR Faculty to be an engaged and visible AI community and a pillar of the centre. To foster an excellent AI research environment, CHAIR is developing a program for addressing key challenges within and across three research tracks – read more under Research tracks.

Moreover, to stimulate a culture of knowledge exchange and collaboration, CHAIR will soon provide a physical meeting place at campus, where all engaged in AI at Chalmers can meet, develop new ideas, identify common challenges, and nurture new opportunities.

To join us in the forthcoming journey, please register here.

Members of CHAIR Faculty

Architecture and Civil Engineering

Pär Johansson,
Mia Bondelind,
Ezra Haaf,
Robert Jockwer,
Alexander Hollberg,
Ekaterina Sokolova,
Jacqueline Plette,
Katleen Murphy,
Liane Thuvander,

Biology and Biological Engineering

Heidi Howard,
Carl Brunius,
Thomas Svensson,
Rasool Saghaleyni,

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Romain Bordes,

Computer Science and Engineering

Kolbjörn Tunström,
Daniel Gillblad,
Elad Michael Schiller,
Ulf Assarsson,
Fredrik Johansson,
Gregory Gay,
Robert Feldt,
Moa Johansson,
Miroslaw Staron,
Simon Olsson,
Graham Kemp,
Erik Knauss,
Sara Ljungblad,
Palle Dahlstedt,
Selpi Selpi,
Paweł W. Woźniak,
Muhammad Waqar Azhar,
Gordana Dodig-Crnkovic,
Marina Papatriantafilou,
Pedro Petersen Moura Trancoso,
Jan Bosch,
Jennifer Horkoff,
Morteza Haghir Chehreghani,
Ashkan Panahi,
Richard Johansson,
Adel Daoud,
Devdatt Dubhashi, – Research committee member
Peter Damaschke,
Rocío Mercado,

Electrical Engineering

Stefan Candefjord,
Tommy Svensson,
Nikolce Murgovski,
Giuseppe Durisi,
Lars Hammarstrand,
Wenhao Lu,
Marija Furdek,
Bengt Arne Sjöqvist,
Yang Li,
Changfu Zou,
Jonas Sjöberg,
Martin Fabian,
Henk Wymeersch,
Knut Åkesson,
Christian Häger,
Karinne Ramirez-Amaro, – Research committee member
Yang Li,
Mats Jirstrand,
Ke Lu,
Lennart Svensson,
Yasemin Bekiroglu,
Petter Falkman,
Emmanuel Dean,
Ida Häggström,

Industrial and Materials Science

Fang Liu,
Hao Wang,
Ebru Turanoglu Bekar,
Sheng Guo,

Mathematical Sciences

Holger Rootzen,
Rebecka Jörnsten, – Research committee member
Christoffer Petersson,
Stig Larsson,
Axel Ringh,
Moritz Schauer,
Annika Lang, – Research committee member
Marina Axelson-Fisk,
Umberto Picchini,
Erik Kristiansson,
Olle Häggström,
Anna Johnning,
Magnus Önnheim,
Mikael Wallman,

Mechanics and Maritime Sciences

Jonas Ringsberg,
Huadong Yao,
David Sedarsky,
Scott MacKinnon,
Mattias Wahde, – Research committee member
Lars Davidson,
Håkan Nilsson,
Ola Benderius,
Jobin John,
Jonas Sjöblom,
Wengang Mao,
Hamidreza Abedi,
Marco Della Vedova,


Patrik Johansson,
Christophe Demaziere,
Giovanni Volpe, – Research committee member
Daniel Midtvedt,
Magnus Colliander,

Space, Earth and Environment

Renesteban Forero,
Patrick Eriksson,
Carmen Toribio,
Per Bjerkeli,
Claes Andersson,
Santiago Arellano,
Sonia Yeh,

Technology Management and Economics

Francis Lee,

External faculty; Sahlgrenska University Hospital

Magnus Kjellberg,
Peter Gjertsson,
Anders Hyltander,
Cecilia Hahn Berg,