Photo of Pernilla Wittung Stafshede

Biophysical Society Award to Chalmers Professor

​Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, professor at the Department of Biology and Biological Engineering at Chalmers, receives the Fellow of the Biophysical Society Award 2022.
​​A small number of distinguished scientists receive the Fellow of the Biophysical Society Award annually for forefront research in biophysics. Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, professor at the Division of Chemical Biology, is one of the seven newest awardees. 

"Pioneeering research about protein biophysics"

She receives the award for ”her pioneering research accomplishments that have enhanced our understanding of protein biophysics, with an emphasis on metalloprotein folding, macromolecular crowding effects, and metal transport mechanisms.”

“I am deeply moved by this recognition. The other Fellows (this year and earlier) are extremely distinguished researchers which I see as role models. It is an honour to be included in this group,” says Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede. 

"The award gives me new energy"

Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede started her own research group in 1999 and has been active at several universities, at first in the United States, and now in Sweden. Her research today focuses on metalloprotein mechanisms (e.g., in cancer) and protein misfolding (e.g., in Parkinson's disease).  

“This award boosts my confidence, because it means that others find my research to be excellent and of great importance. It gives me new energy, to keep going with my research in this important field”. 

Text: Susanne Nilsson Lindh
Photo: Oscar Mattsson

Read more about the 2022 Class of Fellows 

More about the Biophysical Society 

  • The society was founded in 1958 to lead the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. 
  • It does so through meetings, publications, and committee outreach activities. 
  • The society's members, now over 7,500, work in academia, industry, and in government agencies throughout the world.
  • Fellow of the Biophysical Society Award has been announced annually since 2000. To date only one Swedish researcher has received the award (Astrid Gräslund, 2018).
  • The newest awardees will be recognized during the Biophysical Society’s 66th Annual Meeting in San Francisco in February 2022. 

Page manager Published: Tue 30 Nov 2021.