Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award

The Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award is awarded by the Gothenburg Physics Centre to a scientist who made a breakthrough discovery in physics. The award was established in 2006 by the Department of Physics at University of Gothenburg and holds the honor, a monetary prize of EUR 3000 and a piece of art. In conjunction with the award ceremony the laureate holds a lecture, in memory of the nuclear physicist Lise Meitner.

Lise Meitner was a researcher in Berlin from 1907 to 1938, when she was forced to flee to Sweden, where she came to work for 20 years. As a woman she was initially not allowed in the laboratories where men worked and later she had a hard time getting a regular academic position. With these qualifications, she was still one of the leading nuclear physicists in the world. After her escape to Sweden, she was the first to understand nuclear fission when she during a stay in Kungälv Christmas in 1938 , along with her nephew Otto Frisch, could explain the results that Otto Hahn, her colleague in Berlin, sent her.

The Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award is not only about awarding well merited physisists, but also to enrich the scientific environment in Gothenburg.

Call for nominations 2021 Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award. Read more and nominate!

The Gothenburg Physics Centre proudly presents Anne L’Huillier as the lauerate of the Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award 2020. Anne L’Huillier, born in 1958 in Paris, France, is currently a Professor at Lund University, Sweden.

Anne L’Huillier will receive the award 
“For pioneering contributions to attosecond laser science and technology."​​

Professor L'Huillier has been at the forefront of ultrafast laser science since its inception, with her pioneering contributions to high-order harmonic light generation, which is a base technology for attosecond science. Her research has helped foster the field of attosecond science, allowing scientists to visualize the movements of electrons in light-induced processes, which can be used to understand chemical reactions on the atomic level.

The next award ceremony will take place:
Because it was not possible to hold an Award Ceremony in 2020, the winner of
the Lise Meitner Award 2020, Anne L’Huillier, will receive her award in a joint
ceremony for the years 2020 and 2021, planned for fall 2021.​

Previous Gothenburg Lise Meitner Award Laureates

2016 Klaus Blaum

2015 Ivan Schuller

2014 Ewine F. van Dishoeck

2013 Mildred Dresselhaus

2012 Werner Nahm

2010/11 Stefan W. Hell

2009 Renata Kallosh

2008 I. K. Yanson

B. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature and Engineering, National Academy of Science of Ukraine
Award justification: "For pioneering contributions in solid state physics, which led to the first direct observation of the nonstationary Josephson effect, and discovery of Point Contact Spectroscopy of elementary excitations in solids."

2007 Pierre Ramond

University of Florida, Gainesville och Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
Award justification: "For groundbreaking research that led to the Superstring theory"

2006 Robert Marc Friedman

Faculty of Humanities, University of Oslo


This event is supported by the municipality of Kungälv​.


Page manager Published: Mon 08 Feb 2021.