Materials for Tomorrow 2012

The third Materials for Tomorrow was held Oct 23-25, 2012. This year, the conference was organized jointly with the Division of Surface Chemistry and Materials Chemistry of the Swedish Chemical Society.

Download the programme (pdf)


On Day 1, Karin Markides, President of Chalmers, welcomed everyone to the conference. Plenary talks were held by by Sir John Meurig Thomas from University of Cambridge and Kyung Byung Yoon from Sogang University. Many inspiring presentations by young researchers from Swedish universities and industry followed.

A poster session with oral presentations of most of the posters concluded the scientific part of the programme. The night ended with a much appreciated stand up comedy show.

Photos from Day 1

Photos from Poster session 1


Day 2
featured plenary talks by Robert Tilton (Carnegie-Mellon University), Raffaele Mezzenga (ETH) and Inger Odnevall Wallinder (KTH). Professor Martin Malmsten was awarded the Norblad-Ekstrand medal by the Swedish Chemical Society.

A second poster session took place, followed by the conference dinner, where Chalmers student orchestra Allianceorkestret performed.

Photos from Day 2

Photos from Poster session 2

Photos from conference dinner


On Day 3, Bernard Cabane of ESPCI Paris Tech was plenary speaker.

All in all, 38 speakers helped make Materials for Tomorrow 2012 a rewarding experience for all participants.

Page manager Published: Wed 28 Nov 2012.