Spatial and spatio-temporal statistics, stochastic geometry and imaging

The group conducts research in stochastic geometry, spatial and spatio-temporal statistics, and imaging. The members of the group work on developing theory and applications of general classes of spatio- temporal models, including non-stationary and non-Gaussian processes, and on statistical estimation and algorithms for these processes. Application areas include biology, climate, demography, forestry, offshore operations and sea transports, materials science, neurology and telecommunications.
We have regularly speakers at the Statistics Seminar.

The senior members of the group:


Current Ph.D. students:

Ongoing projects:

2018-05-03—2020-08-21 Vinnova
CoSiMa - concept for industrial development for the sustainable soft materials of the future
(Project leader Tobias Gebäck)

2014-04-01—2020-06-30 SSF
Material structures seen through microscopes and statistics
(Project leader Aila Särkkä)

2019-01-01—2022-12-31 VR
How to extract information from complicated point patterns?

2017-01-01—2020-12-31 VR
Latent jump fields for spatial statistics
(Project leader David Bolin)

General superposition limit laws for point processes and random measures
(Project leader Sergei Zuyev)

Past projects:

2014-01-01—2017-12-31 VR
Spatial statistical methods for detecting small fiber neuropathies
(Project leader: Aila Särkkä)

2013-01-01—2018-09-01 KAW
Stochastics for big data and big systems - bridging local and global
(Project leader: Holger Rootzén)

Collaboration at Chalmers/GU:

  • Wengang Mao and Jonas Ringsberg (Department of Shipping and Marine Technology)
  • Eva Olsson (Department of Physics) 
  • SuMo biomaterials center 

Main collaborators outside Chalmers/GU:

  • Francois Baccelli (ENS-INRIA, France)
  • Anastassia Baxevani (University of Cyprus)
  • Elzbieta Bitner-Gregerse (Det Norska Veritas)
  • Peter Guttorp (University of Washington, USA)
  • Guenter Last (Karsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Ross Leadbetter (UNC-Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Finn Lindgren (University of Bath, UK)
  • Mikhail Menshikov (Durham University, UK)
  • Ilya Molchanov (University of Berne, Switzerland)
  • Mari Myllymäki (Natural Resources Institute Finland)
  • Valerie Monbet (IRMAR University, Rennes, France)
  • Michel Olagnon, (IFREMER, Brest, France)
  • Krzysztof Podgorski (School of economics and management, Lund University)
  • Tuomas Rajala (University College London, UK) 
  • Claudia Redenbach (Kaiserslautern University, Germany)
  • Alex Tartakovsky (University of South California, USA)

Page manager Published: Wed 09 Feb 2022.