Three new honorary doctors

Nobel laureate Andre Geim is one of three new honorary doctors at Chalmers University of Technology. He has been appointed together with Kristy B Arbogast and Simon Tavaré. Honorary doctorates are conferred at the annual conferment ceremony, which will be held this year on 10 May in Gothenburg.
Kristy B Arbogast
Dr. Kristy B Arbogast, University of Pennsylvania, USA, has been appointed honorary doctor for her work on developing the multi-disciplinary research field Child Safety and for connecting and uniting international researchers, companies and authorities. Her cross disciplinary engagement has contributed to ground breaking new knowledge regarding injury mechanisms and protective systems for children in cars.

Kristy B Arbogast is a renowned and highly respected international researcher. She is co-director of the Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies (CChIPS) and  Engineering Core Director of the Center for Injury Research and Prevention (CIRP), two centers at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. She is a member of the executive committee on the board of The Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM) in the USA. Dr Arbogast has a broad research interest encompassing safety for children in cars of all ages. With a base in Bioengineering, her research connects and integrates medical clinical research, experimental research, test and experimental tools and the development of technical requirements in vehicles.

Since 2009, Kristy B Arbogast has been engaged as an advisor and coordinator for the child safety cluster at Safer – the vehicle and traffic safety centre at Chalmers.  She has made a strong contribution to increased internationalization and to placing the Child Safety research at Safer on the global agenda. In addition to being a co-supervisor of several doctoral thesis projects at Safer, she has organized a series of successful workshops, gathering together many of the most prominent researchers of the international child safety research community.

Andre Geim
Professor Andre Geim, University of Manchester, UK, has been appointed honorary doctor for his achievements in two new research fields: graphene and gecko tape. Graphene is the fastest growing research area in physics and nanoscience. Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2010 for their ground-breaking experiments with graphene. Gecko tape, which is based on the van der Waals interaction so important to biological nanostructures, and has resulted in new biomimetic materials with applications covering such areas as health care.

Today, Andre Geim’s research deals mostly with graphene and other two-dimensional materials. He has a long publication record in such leading scientific journals as Science and Nature. Geim has published twelve articles that have each generated more than 1,000 citations, including one that has been cited on some 12,000 occasions. His prizes and honors include the Mott Prize (2007), Fellow of the Royal Society (2007), Europhysics Prize (2008) and many more. He was knighted in 2012 by H.M. Queen Elizabeth II.

Andre Geim has many contacts with Chalmers and this has, for instance, enabled Chalmers to bring in expertise on the mechanical exfoliation of graphene at an early stage. These early contacts, including a Linnaeus colloquium in the fall of 2007, were in part made possible by the fact that Chalmers researchers Avgust Yurgens and Andre Geim know each other well from the time of their studies in Moscow. As from the summer of 2010, Andre has been instrumental in the Chalmers-led work on a large European research program – the Graphene Flagship.
His contacts have opened many doors and his support for Chalmers’ efforts has been invaluable. Andre’s presence and leadership at a key hearing in Brussels towards the end of the application process was an important factor to our advantage. He continues to be a central, leading figure of the Flagship as Chairperson of the project’s Strategic Advisory Council.

Simon Tavaré
Professor Simon Tavaré has been appointed honorary doctor for his successful research developing mathematical and statistical models and analyses methods in population genetics and cancer epidemiology. He has promoted young quantitative scientist engagement in bioinformatics and computational biology in an exemplary and resolute manner.

Simon Tavaré grew up in England and received his PhD-degree in statistics at the University of Sheffield. Until the turn of the century his main affiliation was with the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, where he held a chair in biomathematics, shared by the math-department and a biological institute. During the last decade he has led the build-up of a bioinformatics infra-structure and a bio-statistical research group at the Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute. Since February 2013 he has been head of the institute, leading some two hundred scientists in roughly 20 research groups. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society.

As regards the start of Chalmers Bioscience effort, and the south-west Swedish academic research consortium Swegene, Simon was a highly valued member in both the initial evaluation group, and the advisory board respectively. He served on the advisory board of the Gothenburg Mathematical Modeling Centre, an SSF-funded unit at Chalmers, and has  visited Gothenburg and Chalmers regularly since 2000. Two years ago he served for a spell as a highly appreciated Chalmers Jubilee Professor.

Facts about Honorary Doctors at Chalmers
The Honorary Doctor of Science, h.c., is awarded by Chalmers as an acknowledgement of highly prominent and in-depth professional performance associated with Chalmers’ areas of expertise. In addition, a long-term network of contacts is to have been built up around the person granted an Honorary Doctor of Science title from Chalmers. Honorary doctors at Chalmers are appointed by the Faculty Senate.
Honorary doctorates are conferred at the annual conferment ceremony, to be held this year on 10 May 2014.
For more information about honorary doctors, please contact:
Erika Hansson,, +46 31-772 2746

Published: Thu 27 Mar 2014.