Image of Chalmers Student Union building at night.

Chalmers part of European University in new alliance

​Chalmers and four other Swedish universities are participating in different consortia that have been appointed European Universities. The initiative by the European Commission is to, among other things, strengthen the attractiveness of European higher education.
European Universities are part of the EU's Erasmus+ program and are transnational collaborations between different universities in Europe. The aim is to increase mobility between European universities, and to enhance the quality, inclusion and attractiveness of European higher education.

In 2019, 17 groups of higher education institutions were selected for the collaboration and now another 24 European Universities have been added, where Chalmers is one of five Swedish universities participating. In addition to Chalmers, Karolinska Institutet, Linnaeus University, Luleå University of Technology and Uppsala University will be part of a European University. A total of eleven Swedish universities are now participating in the initiative.

Together with six other European technical universities, Chalmers forms the Enhance consortium, the European Universities of Technology Alliance, one of the 24 new European University collaborations. The project will be in progress for three years and with funding of EUR 5 million, the network is to strengthen the integration between the universities and enable an increased international exchange for students, teachers and researchers. The collaboration consists of the following higher education institutions:

  • Chalmers University of Technology
  • NTNU, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Polytechnic University of Milan
  • Polytechnic University of Valencia
  • RWTH Aachen University
  • Technical University of Berlin
  • Warsaw University of Technology

Read more

Page manager Published: Tue 14 Jul 2020.