Bo Albinsson

Professor; Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Physical Chemistry

Bo Albinsson has a long standing interest in mechanisms for energy and electron transfer reactions with relevance for solar energy research. He has also lately developed DNA nanostructures dressed with photo redox active functionalizations. Albinsson has a broad interest in advanced optical spectroscopic methods. He is involved in managing three laser laborites for time resolved emission and absorption studies ranging from millisecond to femtosecond time resolution.

Albinsson research Group

Publications - ResearcherID
Chemistry with biochemistry (KOO041, KOO042, KOO081), Lecturer

Grant and prize evaluations

•     Member of evaluation committees of the Swedish Research Council (VR) during 2000-2003 and 2012-2013 (VR, theoretical and physical chemistry)
•    Chairman for the theoretical and physical chemistry evaluation committee of VR for the period 2004-2009
•    “Rapporteur” for the Swedish research council in the international evaluation of Inorganic chemistry, 2008.
•    Swedish representative in the domain committee for chemistry, molecular sciences and technology (DC CMST) in the COST programme run by the European Science Foundation 2006-2010.
•    Evaluator for the Nobel Committee in Chemistry.
•    External expert evaluator:
The Lundbeck foundation, Denmark
Department of Energy, USA
EU Horizon 2020, FP5, FP6, FP7
•    Member of the PE4 committee for ERC consolidator grants,: 2013-2015
External Ph D examiner (opponent) for:

Erling Thyrhaug (Copenhagen University, 2013)
Jakob Grilj (University of Géneva, 2011)
Antoine van Vooren (University of Mons, 2009)
Mikael Isaksson (Umeå University, 2007)
Niclas Sandström (Uppsala University, 2007)
James Hutchison (University of Melbourne, 2006)
Bo W. Laursen (University of Copenhagen, 2001)
James Rostron (University of Newcastle 2005)
Conference organization

•     Member of the International Scientific Committee for the 17th IUPAC Symposium on Photochemistry in Barcelona, 1998.
•    Chairman for the 22nd IUPAC Symposium on Photochemistry, Göteborg, 2008. The IUPAC conference is the largest in the photochemistry field and attracted close to 600 delegates.
•    Chairman and vice chair for the Gordon conference in Electron Donor-Acceptor Interactions in Newport, RI, 2012 and 2010, respectively.
Other services

•     Referee for several major chemistry journals (Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Reviews, Nature Chemistry etc.)
•    Member of the faculty senate (fakultetsrådet) at Chalmers University of Technology, 2003-2008.
•    Member of the recruitment committee at Chalmers University of Technology, 2008-2011
•    Member of the executive committee for the European Photochemistry Association and Editor for their biannual journal: EPA Newsletter, 2010-2012.

Page manager Published: Mon 21 Dec 2015.