Operator of the Future

The "Operator of the Future" enables competitive Swedish production across industrial sectors.

The project goal is a future Toolbox for competent individuals close to production processes. Such operators have high impact on flexibility, productivity, and quality.

Future tools are based on mobile communication, decision support, and IT, enhancing operator capability. Potential project impact is significant, as there are hundreds of thousands of operators in Swedish industry alone. The project
also supports future inclusive workplaces, addressing Swedish and European employment goals of 80% and 75% respectively for ages 20-64.

Project end-users are: Boliden, LKAB, Sandvik Coromant, Volvo Group, Astra Tech, SKF, and SAAB AB.

Systems developers are (Large/SME): Beijer Electronics, AB Volvo, CGM, ATS, and Capee group. Göteborg Technical College enables wide dissemination through volume training of industrial operators. Luleå Technical Univ. and Chalmers contribute with analysis methods, interviews, labs for usability tests, and development of pilot installations. Chalmers is the project manager.

The project has four phases: user needs analyses; sub-system development; system component integration; and implementation, training and pilot installations. Work is separated into six work packages with milestones. Operator situations for process- and manufacturing industry are analysed separately, then assembled into generic toolbox solutions that are tested in lab and industrial contexts.

Project leaders: Johan Stahre (akademic), Lena Moestam Ahlström (AB Volvo)

Partner organizations

  • Volvo Cars (Private, Sweden)
  • Boliden Mineral AB (Private, Sweden)
  • SKF (Private, Sweden)
  • Volvo Group (Private, Sweden)
  • Göteborgs tekniska college (Academic, Sweden)
  • Luleå University of Technology (Academic, Sweden)
  • Beijer Electronics AB (Private, Sweden)
  • LKAB (Private, Sweden)
  • Sandvik (Private, Sweden)
Start date 01/08/2012
End date The project is closed: 30/09/2014

​​Externa medlemmar

​Luleå Tekniska Universitet LTU
Lena Abrahamsson
Jan Johansson
Håkan Alm
Camilla  Grane
Anders Gustafsson

Funded by

  • VINNOVA (Public, Sweden)
​​(Luleå University of Technology ) LTU:

Lena Abrahamsson, Jan Johansson, Håkan Alm, Camilla  Grane

Page manager Published: Fri 08 May 2020.