Inauguration of unique advanced transmission electron microscope

​Welcome to join a dedicated day with internationally leading scientists including a special lecture by the Vice President of the Max-Planck-Society, Professor Ferdi Schüth.

Chair: Professor Eva Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology

The registration is now closed but there are still some seats left in GD lecture hall for the seminar and Inauguration ceremon​y. Welcome to attend!


Location: GD lecture hall

09.30 – 10.00
Registration, Coffee/Tea 

10.00 – 10.45 Seminar, Professor Ferdi Schüth, Vice President of Max-Planck-Society
“Materials for Energy Technology- Importance of Material Structure and Advanced Electron Microscopy”
10.45 – 11.00 Questions

11.00 – 11.45 Inauguration ceremony with:
Master of ceremonies: William Chalmers 

- Stefan Bengtsson, President and CEO of Chalmers University of technology
- Thomas Nilsson, Head of the Department of Physics, Chalmers University of Technology
- Angus Kirkland, University of Oxford, Science Director ePSIC, Diamond, President of International Federation of Societies for  Microscopy
- Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Director of the Inst. Microstructure Research 
- Martha McCartney, Department of Physics, Arizona State University
- David Smith, Department of Physics, Arizona State  University
- Robert Sinclair, Director Wallenberg Research Link, Stanford University
- Yuichi Ikuhara, University of Tokyo
- Maria Abrahamsson, Director of Area of Advance Materials Science, Chalmers
- Bo Albinsson, Director of Excellence Initiative Nano, Chalmers University of technology​
Julia Fernandez-Rodriguez, Head of the Centre for Cellular Imaging, University of Gothenburg 
- Koichi Fukuyama, Vice President JEOL
- Max Haider, CEO CEOS
- Masashi Iwatsuki, Representative Director JEOL
- Joachim Mayer, RWTH Aachen University and Forschungszentrum Jülich, Director Materials Science and Technology
Ferdi Schüth, Vice President of Max-Planck-Society


11.45 – 12.00 Walk to Canyon at MC2 building
12.00 – 13.30 Lunch buffé in the Canyon (outside Kollektorn)

Location: Kollektorn lecture room, MC2​
NOTE! There are no more seats available for the lectures.

13.30 – 13.45 Lecture by Robert Sinclair
“Introduction to Advanced Transmission Electron  
Microscopy and its Applications” 

13.45 – 14.00 Lecture by Yuichi Ikuhara, “Aberration corrected STEM and DPC” 

14.00 – 14.15 Lecture by Rafal Dunin-Borkowski,  “Quantitative techniques in electron microscopy” 

14.15 – 14.30 Lecture by Martha McCartney, “Electron holography and Applications” 

14.30 – 15.00 Coffee/Tea

15.00 – 15.15 Lecture by Angus Kirkland, “Imaging Structural Dynamics in Low Dimensional Materials”​

15.15 – 15.30 Lecture by David Smith, “Aberration Corrected Imaging of Semiconductor Interfaces” 

15.30 – 15.45 Lecture by Joachim Mayer, “Advanced TEM of nanostructured materials” 

15.45 – 16.15Coffee/Tea

16.15  16.30 Masaki Mukai, “The Monochromator of JEOL Mono NEO ARM 200F”, JEOL

16.30  16.45 Max Haider, ”The Cs correctors”, CEOS 

16.45  17.00Liam Spillane, “EELS Energy Resolution: The Role of the Detector in Practical System Resolution”, Gatan​

19.00 Dinner, in the Aquarium of Universeum.
We will start with a gathering in the main lobby of the museum and then walk through the exhibitions and the rainforest towards the Aquarium.

Read more about the unique electron microscope that enables researchers to study and design the smart materials of the future. Explore the world of individual atoms!​
Category Event; Seminar; Lecture
Location: Gustaf Dalén-salen, lecture hall, Chalmers Tvärgata 5, Gustaf Dalénsalen
Starts: 15 May, 2019, 09:30
Ends: 15 May, 2019, 18:00

Published: Mon 08 Apr 2019. Modified: Tue 14 May 2019