Rikard Söderberg
Profe​ssor Rikard Söderberg is elected Fellow of prestigious international academy.​​​​
Photo​: Anna-Lena Lundqvist

Professor honorable appointed to CIRP Fellow

​Professor Rikard Söderberg has been appointed as Fellow of the International Academy of Production Engineering, CIRP. The selection is based on a long and rigorous process that guarantees the highest possible academic standard.
Recently, the members of CIRP, the International Academy of Production Engineering, gathered for a meeting in Japan. At the meeting, Professor Rikard Söderberg, Head of Department of Industrial and Materials Science and Director of the Wingquist Laboratory, was appointed as a Fellow in the organization.

"It feels extremely honorable to be nominated and elected as a Fellow in CIRP," says Rikard Söderberg. "It is an acknowledgment of the research that I and my research team conduct in the field of geometry assurance and robust design."

Rikard Söderberg is a professor in product and production development and with his research he focuses on minimizing the effect of geometric variation. It includes areas such as industrial design, visualization, robust design, statistical variation simulation, optimization, assembly modeling and analysis, measurement preparation and analysis of measurement data.

CIRP is a world-leading organization in production engineering research and is at the forefront of design, optimization, control and handling of processes, machines and systems. More and more of the business's attention is focused on challenges such as sustainable production, the environmental impact of new technology and manufacturing aspects of globalization. The Academy has limited membership based on demonstrated excellence in research and has about 600 academic and industrial members from 50 industrialized countries. Fellows are internationally recognized scientists chosen to be members of CIRP for life.

The nomination of Rikard Söderberg was supported by Professor Torsten Kjellberg of KTH, Professor Hoda ElMaraghy ​​of University of Windsor in Canada, Professor Luc Mathieu of École Normal Supérieure Paris-Saclay in France and Professor Eric Lutters of the University of Twente in the Netherlands.​

Published: Wed 05 Sep 2018. Modified: Wed 19 Sep 2018