Inauguration lecture, Mats Leijon

​Welcome to a lecture for the position Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering, held by Mats Leijon.


Electricity - any need for Science and Innovation?

As a new Professor in Electrical Engineering at Chalmers, Mats Leijon will, in his introductory speech, reflect upon the field of power and energy engineering and its future challenges, based on his more than three and a half decades long experience from industry and academia. Science, innovations and their implications on engineering, an old and conventional area, will be discussed and demonstrated, as well as the importance of using Maxwell’s equations and the Poynting vector.

Mats Leijon graduated from Chalmers MScEE in 1983 and as Dr. in 1987. He had different assignments at ABB during 1987-2000 and became Professor in Engineering Physics, direction Electricity, at Uppsala University in 2000. Since then, he has been Dean of the Engineering education and recently Dean of Engineering.
Mats Leijon has around 1500 patents and over 300 scientific articles of which the majority is within peer reviewed journals. He has been on the editorial board of several journals and supervised 30 PhD students as main supervisor on Chalmers and Uppsala University. Among his rewards, he has received the John Ericson medal and the Gustav Dalén medal at Chalmers, KTH Great Prize and KTH gold medal and the Björkén Prize. The Polhem Prize, Walter Ahlström Prize and “Stora Energipriset”, as well as the King Karl XVI Gustav medal of 9th order with band of the Royal Order of the Seraphim are other awards that he has received. Some of his achievements have been nominated for Discover Awards and Financial Times Awards. Mats Leijon is an elected member of The Royal Society of Science (Kungliga Vetenskaps-Sociteten) and the Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences.
Category Lecture
Location: EA, Hörsalsvägen 11, Campus Johanneberg
Starts: 09 February, 2018, 13:00
Ends: 09 February, 2018, 14:00

Published: Thu 01 Feb 2018. Modified: Fri 02 Feb 2018