POSTPONED: SCOM 2020, New dates 25-28 April 2021

​​Dear SCOM 2020 participants,

Due to the situation with the Corona virus the workshop is officially moved to 2021!
The new dates are 25-28 April 2021.

At the moment the idea is to keep the same invited/contributed talks pool depending on the availability of the speakers for the new dates.
For everybody who has already registered on the website, we will, of course, return your conference fee in full.

Strong Coupling with Organic Molecules (SCOM)​

​"SCOM 2020 is the third international workshop on strong coupling in organic materials. It will be held in Gothenburg in Sweden on 26-29 April 2020. It builds on the very successful workshops, SCOM16 and SCOM18, held in San Sebastian and in Eindhoven in 2016 and in 2018, respectively.
The workshop brings together researchers from different disciplines including: Photonics, Quantum Optics, Plasmonics, Materials, Chemistry and Condensed Matter Physics to discuss the latest developments in the study of the strong coupling involving organic molecules and optical cavities. Leaders in the field discuss recent results on phenomena that involve polaritonic states, molecular excitations, molecular vibrations and their complex interactions, giving rise to a plethora of fascinating effects of both scientific and technological interest." 

Confirmed speakers 

Jeremy Baumberg (Cambridge University)
Jenny Clark (University of Sheffield)​
Thomas Ebbesen (University of Strasbourg)
Ruben Esteban (DIPC, San Sebastian)
Jerome Faist (ETH Zurich)​
Johannes Feist (University Autonoma de Madrid)
Ido Kaminer (Technion)
Jonathan Keeling (University of St Andrews)
Stephane Kena-Cohen (Polytechnique de Montréal)
Pavlos Lagoudakis (University of Southhampton)
Christoph Lienau (University of Oldenburg)
Mikhail Noginov (Norfolk State University)
Franco Nori (RIKEN)
Matthew Pelton (University of Maryland)
Christian Schneider (University of Würzburg)
Päivi Törmä (Aalto University)
Koen Vandewal (Hasselt University)
Wei Xiong (University of California in San Diego)​
Joel Yuen-Zhou (University California San Diego)
Jana Zaumseil (University of Heidelberg)

Contributed talks
Ora Bitton (Weizmann Institute of Science)
"Vacuum Rabi splitting of bright and dark plasmonic cavitymodes in the limit of a single quantum emitter"

Tomasz Antosiewicz (Warsaw University)
"Nanoscale polaritons in a first-frinciples picture"

Matthijs Berghuis (Eindhoven)
"Enhancing triplet fusion in tetracene crystals by strong light-matter coupling"

Jussi Toppari (Jyväskylä)
"Effect of molecular dynamics on strongly coupled hybrid states between organic molecules and confined light"

Gerrit Groenhof (Jyväskylä)
"Multi-Scale Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Molecular Ensembles Strongly Coupled to Low-Quality Dispersive Optical Cavities​"

Felipe Herrera (Santiago, Chile)
"Chemical reactivity of vibrational polaritons in the ultrastrong coupling regime"

K. Georgiou (Lidzey/Sheffield)
"Mirror-less organic cavities: New platform for polariton chemistry"

Kenji Hirai (Hokkaido, Japan)
"Vibrational Strong Coupling in Organic Reactions and Self-assembly"

Simpkins (Naval. Washington)
"Strong Vibrational Coupling for Chemical Control and Optical Modulation"

Tal Schwartz (Tel Aviv)
"Strong Coupling with Collective Terahertz Vibrations in Organic Materials"

Markus Kowalewski (Stockholm)
"Non-adiabatic dynamics of a cavity coupled molecule in a mixed atomic-molecular ensemble"

Adarsh Vasista (William L Barnes/Exeter)
"Soft microresonators for molecule–cavity coupling: what, why, and how"

Lars Mewes (Lausanne)
"Energy relaxation in molecular cQED systems: Insights from coherent two-dimensional spectroscopy"

Christian Schäfer (Rubio/Hamburg)
"Ab initio theoretical cavity QED - a mechanism for reactive slowdown under VSC"

M. Dusel, S. Höfling (Würzburg)
"Room temperature Organic Exciton-Polariton Condensate in a Lattice"

Lakhwani Girish (Sidney)
"Perylene derivatives for polariton lasing "

Thilo Stöferle (IBM Zurich)
"Polariton condensation in a 2D Lieb lattice with a tunable microcavity at room temperature"

David Zueco (Spain)
"Strong coupling, broadband spectroscopy and magnetic correlations in magnetic molecules coupled to superconducting cavities"

Todisco (SDU)
"Magnetic and electric Mie-Exciton polaritons in silicon nanodisks"

Jan Lüttgens, Felix Berger and Jana Zaumseil (Universität Heidelberg​)
"Radiative Pumping of Exciton-Polaritons by Luminescent sp3 Defects in Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes"

International organizing committee:
Jaime Gómez Rivas, (Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research and Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands) Bill Barnes, (University of Exeter, UK) Francisco García Vidal, (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and DIPC, Spain) Javier Aizpurua (Center for Materials Physics, CSIC-UPV/EHU and DIPC, the Basque Country)

Local organizing committee:
Timur Shegai (Chalmers University of Technology) and Karl Börjesson (University of Gothenburg)

Page manager Published: Tue 23 Jun 2020.