Alexia Auffèves

ALEXIA AUFFÈVES is senior scientist at CNRS, Grenoble. After a bachelor degree in philosophy and a master in theoretical physics, Dr. Auffèves did an experimental PhD at the Laboratoire Kastler Brossel under the supervision of Pr. S. Haroche where she synthetized Schrödinger cat states of light. She then went for a technological post-doc at Institute of Nanotechnologies of Lyon where she learned how to fabricate semi-conducting photonic crystals. She was hired by CNRS in 2005 to conduct quantum optics experiments with semi-conductors. She finally switched to theory in 2009. Dr. Auffèves is expert in theoretical quantum optics, quantum thermodynamics and quantum foundations, with strong connections to a wide range of experimental and theoretical groups in QD-CQED, circuit QED, quantum thermodynamics and quantum information.

Immanuel Bloch

IMMANUEL BLOCH is scientific director at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in ​Garching and holds a chair for experimental physics at the Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich. His scientific work is among the most frequently cited in the field of quantum physics and has helped to open a new interdisciplinary research field at the interface of atomic physics, quantum optics, quantum information science and solid state physics. For his research, he has received numerous international awards, including the Körber European Science Prize and the Harvey Prize.​

Jennifer Dionne

JENNIFER DIONNE is an associate professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Stanford, and an affiliate faculty of the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute, TomKat Center for Sustainable Energy, Institute for Immunity, Transplantation, and Infection, and Bio-X. She serves as director of the Department of Energy funded Photonics at Thermodynamic Limits Energy Frontier Research Center and faculty co-director of Stanford’s Photonics Research Center. Jen received her B.S. degrees in Physics and Systems Science and Mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis in 2003 and her Ph. D. in Applied Physics at the California Institute of Technology in 2009, advised by Harry Atwater. Prior to joining Stanford, she served as a postdoctoral researcher in Chemistry at Berkeley, advised by Paul Alivisatos.  Jen’s research develops new materials and microscopies to observe chemical and biological processes as they unfold with nanometer scale resolution. She then uses these observations to help improve energy-relevant processes (such as photocatalysis and energy storage) and medical diagnostics. Her work has been recognized with the Alan T. Waterman Award, a Moore Inventor Fellowship, the Materials Research Society Young Investigator Award, Adolph Lomb Medal, and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, and was featured on Oprah’s list of “50 Things that will make you say ‘Wow’!”. When not in the lab, Jen enjoys teaching both undergraduate and graduate classes (including “Waves and Diffraction,” “Materials Chemistry”, “Optoelectronics”, and “Science of the Impossible”), exploring the intersection of art and science, cycling the latest century, and reliving her childhood with her two young sons. ​

Thomas W. Ebbesen

THOMAS W. EBBESEN is a physical chemist born in Oslo, Norway, in 1954. He was educated in the United States and France, receiving his bachelor degree from Oberlin College (USA) and his PhD from the Curie University in Paris. He then did research in both the US and Japan, most notably at NEC, before returning to France in 1999 to help build a new institute (ISIS) at the University of Strasbourg.  He is currently the head of the Center for Frontier Research in Chemistry and the Strasbourg Institute for Advanced Studies (www.usias.fr). He holds the chair of physical chemistry of light-matter interactions. The author of many papers and patents, Ebbesen has received numerous awards for his pioneering research on nanostructured materials including the 2014 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience for his transformative contributions to nano-optics.  He is a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and foreign member of the French Academy of Science. ​

Stefan Hell

STEFAN HELL is a director at both the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen and the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg, Germany.
Hell is credited with having conceived, validated and applied the first viable concept for overcoming Abbe’s diffraction-limited resolution barrier in a light-focusing fluorescence microscope. For this accomplishment he has received numerous awards, including the 2014 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience and the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
Stefan Hell received his doctorate (1990) in physics from the University of Heidelberg. From 1991 to 1993 he worked at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, followed by stays as a senior researcher at the University of Turku, Finland, between 1993 and 1996, and as a visiting scientist at the University of Oxford, England, in 1994. In 1997 he was appointed to the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen as a group leader, and was promoted to director in 2002. From 2003 to 2017 he also led a research group at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ). Hell holds honorary professorships in physics at the Universities of Heidelberg and Göttingen.​
Image credits: Stefan Hell photo © Peter Badge/Typos1 in cop. with Foundation Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings - all rights reserved 2017. 

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

HALINA RUBINSZTEIN-DUNBLOP is a Director of the Translational Research Laboratory at the ARC CoE for Engineered Quantum Systems, School of Mathematics and Physics at the University of Queensland. She obtained her PhD degree at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden. Halina’s research interests are in quantum atom optics, laser micromanipulation, laser physics, linear and nonlinear high resolution spectroscopy, and nano-optics. She has over 270 publications in international peer refereed journals, thirteen book chapters and a large number of international conference contributions and several invited, keynote and plenary talks. Halina’s group in laser micromanipulation/optical tweezers was the first to demonstrate the transfer of angular momentum of light to microscopic particles. The work has led to a number of interesting and innovative applications in the area of optically driven microsystems with further application into biological and biomedical systems. Halina also leads a program in quantum atom optics that is conducting studies on quantum thermodynamics and is aimed at developing quantum sensors and devices for use in inertial and magnetic systems and more broadly, probing and understanding quantum systems. Rubinsztein-Dunlop has attracted considerable external competitive funding for her research from national and international funding agencies.
Halina is heavily involved in promotion and popularisation of science. She has been a member of program committees of a large number of international conferences. She was a Program and a Co-Chair of major international conferences. She also spends a lot of time promoting science to the wider community.

Published: Wed 10 Apr 2019. Modified: Mon 06 May 2019