Organisation of Undergraduate and Master's education

​Chalmers organisation for education represents many perspectives, from the engineering preparatory year to the 27 educational programmes resulting in BSc and professional MSc degrees in Architecture, Engineering and Ship’s officer degrees along with some 40 specialist master programmes open to students worldwide.

Anna Karlsson-Bengtsson​, Vicepresident of Education and Lifelong Learning, is the head of the undergraduate and graduate education organisation. She is supported by an Executive Committe for Education in which the four Deans of Education, one student representative and process leader for education, finance officer and foresight scanning analyst are all included. The Executive Committe for Education meets weekly over the semesters.

Chalmers' Education is divided into four educational areas

The four educational areas are responsible for the educational programmes within their respective subject areas. In practice, this means that each education area is responsible for thousands of students, studying between five and eight different education programmes and about ten different master’s programmes, receiving a high quality education.

The educational areas and Deans of Education

  • Architecture and Civil Engineering ​ -  ​Patrik Höstmad
  • Electric, computer, IT and industrial engineering - Jörgen Blennow
  • Physics, chemistry and biological engineering along with mathematics and engineering preparatory year - Nikola Markovic
  • Mechanical engineering, mechatronics and automation, design along with shipping and marine engineering - Mikael Enelund​

Program directors

Each program, undergraduate and master's level, has an appointed program director, program advisors and committee that includes representatives from both academia and industry.

Page manager Published: Wed 20 Nov 2019.