Andrew Ewing

Full Professor; Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Analytical Chemistry

As analytical chemists we develop new techniques and new areas of application for these techniques. Examples include the development of new separation methods like capillary electrophoresis, quantitative cytometry, electrochemical methods with micro and nanoscale probes for analysis in cells or in capillaries, mass spectrometry imaging methods, and ultrasensitive spectroscopic measurements. These measurements will help us to change the world we live in.

Our group is pushing the limits of measurement science through the development of cutting edge instrumentation and application of new technologies to measurements of high impact. In collaboration with other groups at Chalmers and GU we work on projects that span all of the traditional areas of analytical chemistry including separations, spectroscopy, electrochemistry, mass spectrometry and microscopy. We have specific strengths in 1) imaging including fluorescence (both ratiometric and lifetime based), electrochemistry, and mass spectrometry, 2) biosensing, 3) nanobioengineering, 4) artificial cell structures, and 5) single cell analysis. Life science applications in our group are primarily found in neuroscience, membrane biophysics, and single cell measurements related to neuroscience and cell structure, as well as in vivo electrochemistry.

The Andrew Ewing Research Group


Graduate Classes:

Bioanalytical electrochemistry
Spectroscopy and Mass Spectrometry
Analytical Separations


Appointed Second Wallenberg Scholar (2017), 15 000 000 SEK
European Advanced Materials Congress European Advanced Materials Award (2017)
Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh Conf. Award in Analytical Chemistry (2015)
Honorary Professor, University of Science and Technology Beijing (2014)
Norblad-Ekstrand Medal of the Swedish Chemical Society (2014)
Honorary Professor, Nanjing University of Science and Technology (2014-2019)
Elected to the Gothenburg Academy of Arts and Sciences (2013)
American Chemical Society Analytical Division Award in Electrochemistry (2013)
Charles N Reilley Award in Electroanalytical Chemistry (2013)
Elected to Swedish Academy of Sciences (Academician), Chemistry Class, (2012)
Wallenberg Scholar, 2011
ERC Advanced Grant, 2010
Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2009
American Chemical Society Award in Chemical Instrumentation, 2006

Published: Thu 13 Apr 2017.