For postal adress, visiting address, contact persons, etc., see the Contact web page.
For all personnel, see the Staff​ web page.


John Conway
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 5503

Deputy director

Eva Wirström
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 5520, +46 31-772 6424


Head of Administration at Department of Space, Earth and Environment: Camilla Kolm
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 1241
Press contact, communications officer: Robert Cumming
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 5500, Mobile: +46 70-493 3114

Observational support

Head of unit: Michael Lindqvist
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 5508

Technical support group

Head of unit: ​Roger Hammargren
Email:, Phone: +46 31-772 5551

Steering committee

Jan-Eric Sundgren, chairman​
Carole Mundell, Department of Physics, University of Bath, UK
Daniella Thaller, Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy, Germany
Garrelt Mellema, Department of Astronomy, Stockholm University
Kirsten Kraiberg Knudsen, Department of Space, Earth and Environment, Chalmers University of Technology
Merja Tornikoski, Metsähovi Radio Observatory, Aalto University, Finland
Olga Bottner, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Uppsala University
In addition, John Conway, director of Onsala Space Observatory, and Eva Wirström, deputy director of Onsala Space Observatory, participat​es in the Steering Committee meetings. Eva also acts as Committee secretary.

​Time Allocation Committee for the 20 m telescope and APEX

The Time Allocation Committee (TAC) handles proposals for observing time on the Onsala 20 m telescope (single-dish) and Swedish APEX time.

Sofia Ramstedt, Uppsala University (chair)
Jes Jørgensen, University of Copenhagen
Jouni Kainulainen, Chalmers
Secretary: Magnus Thomasson, Onsala Space Observatory

The Swe​dish LOFAR Time Allocation Committee (TAC)

This TAC provides input to the international LOFAR time allocation process.​​

Garrelt Mellema, Stockholm University (chair)
Melvyn Davies, Lund University
Wouter Vlemmings, Chalmers University of Technology
Felix Ryde, KTH
Sofia Ramstedt, Uppsala University
Tobia Carozzi, Chalmers University of Technology​

​​​​​​​​​For postal adress, visiting address, contact persons, etc., see the Contact web page.
For all personnel, see the Staff​ web page.​​​​​​

Page manager Published: Mon 15 Aug 2022.