Ingemar Denbratt receives the Håkan Frisinger Award

The Håkan Frisinger Foundation for Transportation Research will be awarding the scholarship for 2012 to Professor Ingemar Denbratt at Chalmers University of Technology.
Ingemar Denbratt will receive the scholarship of SEK 250,000 for his successes in combustion-engine research, as well as his national and international cooperation with industry within the Combustion Engine Research Center (CERC) and various EU projects.

“Based on Denbratt’s highly substantial significance to the development of eco-friendly transportation, which has also been of particular benefit to the Swedish automotive industry, I believe that Ingemar Denbratt is a highly deserving and appropriate recipient of the Håkan Frisinger scholarship for 2012,” says Per Lövsund, Professor of Vehicle Safety and Head of Department of Applied Mechanics at the Chalmers University of Technology in his nomination.

Denbratt has been a driving force in the creation and scientific development of the national competency center in combustion-engine technology at Chalmers, CERC. The cutting-edge laboratories in combustion-engine technology developed by Denbratt have promoted cooperation with international scientists and the industry. In order to satisfy future demands for the development of eco-friendly drivelines, widespread initiatives are implemented in close dialog with the automotive industry, with a particular focus on hybrid solutions. The laboratories are of high strategic significance for both the automotive industry and Swedish sub-contractors.

The scholarship will be presented by the Håkan Frisinger Foundation at a seminar on April 4 at the house of William Chalmers.

Photo: Jan-Olof Yxell

More information and registration >>>
Ulf Andersson, +46 (0)736–545402,

More information about the Combustion Engine Research Center >>>

Håkan Frisinger >>>
Håkan Frisinger was CEO of Volvo in 1983–1987 and Chairman of the Board in 1997-1999. Nomination of recipients of the Frisinger scholarship is conducted by the Chalmers University of Technology and Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF). The decision about the scholarship is made by the Board of VREF.

The Håkan Frisinger award >>>
Each year the Håkan Frisinger Foundation for Transportation Research  awards a scholarship to a prominent researcher. The award is currently SEK 250,000.

Since the start of the FUT programme in 2000 the receivers are:
2011 - Annika Stensson Trigell, KTH
2010 - Bengt Johansson, Lunds universitet
2009 - Magnus Skoglundh, Chalmers
2008 - Pål Börjesson, Lunds universitet
2007 - Wolfgang Kropp, Chalmers
2006 - Marcus Aldén, Lunds universitet
2005 - Bo Egardt, Chalmers
2004 - Michael Patriksson, Chalmers
2003 - Bengt Andersson, Chalmers
2002 - Dag Wedelin, Chalmers
2001 - Per Lövsund, Chalmers

Published: Thu 10 Jan 2013.