Three awarded for best nanoposters

​Ludvig de Knoop, Astrid Pihl and Maja Feierabend won the prizes in the poster competition when the excellence initiative Nanoscience and Nanotechnology met in Marstrand recently. "All the contributions held an impressive high quality," said the juror Erwin Peterman, professor at the Vrije University Amsterdam in the Netherlands.​
A total of 65 posters competed for the three top prizes. Professor Peterman joined the jury with Tero Heikkilä, professor at the University of Jyväskylä, Finland. They agreed that it was a tough task to select the winners and that all contributions were at a very high level.
"We were really amazed by the fantastic quality of the posters, ranging from quite complicated theory to beautiful quantum kind of stuff to fantastic biophysical applications", said Peterman.

Ludvig de Knoop, Astrid Pihl and Maja Feierabend, were rewarded with SEK 5,000 each to be used for conference trips. In addition to the poster itself, an oral presentation was included in the assessment.

Ludvig de Knoop (above) is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Physics. He competed with the poster "Room temperature melting of gold observed with atomic resolution", which won the first prize.
"What really stroke us was the supercool science, although it was at room temperature!", Erwin Peterman joked. 
He emphasized the nice outline of the poster, and that Ludvig de Knoop flavoured his presentation by showing some illustrative movie clips.
"We also liked very much the combination of experiment and theory, and you explained it in a very clear way."

Astrid Pihl (above) is a PhD student at the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. She was awarded with the second prize for her poster "Analysis of silica-encapsulated biomolecules using Atom Probe Tomography".
"What really stood out was the stunning look of the poster, it was really beautiful and clear. Also, we found your presentation very enthusiastic. We believed in your ideas", said Professor Peterman.

Maja Feierabend (above) is a PhD student at the Department of Physics. Her contribution was titled "Controlling the optical fingerprint of transition metal dichalcogenides via molecules and strain", and was awarded with third prize.
"Your poster was very clear and organized. You managed to reach a very high quality of your explanation of a complicated topic", said Erwin Peterman.

The community building event was arranged by Astrid Pihl, Ingrid Strandberg and Maja Feierabend, PhD students at the departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Microtechnology and Nanoscience - MC2, and Physics.

Text and photo: Michael Nystås

Read the winning posters [pdf]​

Page manager Published: Tue 02 Oct 2018.