Jubilee Professor 2017 hosted by MC2

Professor Steven G Louie, UC Berkeley, USA, has been honored with a Jubilee Professorship at Chalmers in 2017. He will be hosted by the Department of Microtechnology and Nanoscience - MC2.

Steven G Louie will spend three months at MC2 next year. Here, Mikael Fogelström, new head of department, along with the Applied Quantum Physics Laboratory, take good care of the professor.
Steven G Louie is a researcher within condensed matter physics and materials science. He received his Ph.D. in physics from UC Berkeley in 1976. After having worked at the IBM Watson Research Center, Bell Laboratories, and University of Pennsylvania, he joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 1980. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2005), fellow of the American Physical Society (1985), senior faculty scientist and Theory Facility Director of the Molecular Foundry at LBNL, and editor of the journal Solid State Communications. He has been awarded a Sloan Fellowship (1980), a Guggenheim Fellowship (1989), two Miller Professorships (1986, 1995), the U.S. Department of Energy Award for Sustained Outstanding Research in Solid State Physics (1993), the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory’s Outstanding Performance Award (1995), the Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics of the American Physical Society (1996), the Davisson-Germer Prize in Surface Physics of the American Physical Society (1999), and shared with M. L. Cohen the Foresight Institute Richard P. Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (2003). He is identified by the ISI as one of the most highly cited researchers in physics.

Jubilee Professorship at Chalmers

When Chalmers in 1979 celebrated 150 years, the government gave a Jubilee Professorship at Chalmers as a gift. The criteria to be met is that the holders will add Chalmers new skills and that the University's international relations will be strengthened. The chair can be divided into different time intervals during the year and held by different professors. They are designated by the President of Chalmers.
The Jubilee Professors of 2017 are Steven G Louie, UC Berkeley, USA, Virpi Kristiina Tuunainen, Aalto University, Finland, Robert Sinclair, Stanford University, USA, and Konstantin Neyman, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain.

Text: Michael Nystås
Photo: Elisabeth Fall, published under permission

Page manager Published: Fri 17 Jun 2016.