Distinguished Seminar: Multi-Dimension, Multi-Function and Multi-Band Substrate Integrated Waveguide Antennas and Arrays for GHz and THz Applications

2016 President of IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S)
NSERC-Huawei Industrial Research Chair in Future Wireless Technologies
Poly-Grames Research Center, Department of Electrical Engineering
Ecole Polytechnique (University of Montreal), Canada


This presentation reviews the past and current research status of substrate integrated waveguide (SIW) antennas and arrays for GHz and THz system applications. Special interests are oriented towards on-going worldwide efforts and development of various multi-dimension, multi-function and multi-band highly integrated SIW antenna and array geometries and techniques with focus on single- and multi-beam antenna techniques and array architectures. They also include various emerging stacked multilayer structures, multi-port driven lens techniques, and non-stacked three-dimensionally expandable LEGO-style designs, which present disruptive and game-changing schemes for 5G and future wireless systems. In particular, the LEGO-style design is shown to enable the development of partial- and full-plane beam-processing antennas and arrays. With the SIW scheme, both beam-forming network and antenna array module can be integrated with minimum cross-talk and signal interference. Transmitting and receiving antenna-circuit systems can fully be integrated on the same substrate with maximum isolation. Forward-looking thoughts and future outlooks are provided for higher-density GHz and THz integration schemes.


Dr. Ke Wu is Professor of Electrical Engineering at Polytechnique Montreal (University of Montreal). He is also the NSERC-Huawei Industrial Research Chair in Future Wireless Technologies (the first Huawei endowed Chair in the world). He was Tier-I Canada Research Chair (2002-2016) in RF and millimeter-wave engineering. He has been the Director of Poly-Grames Research Center and the Founding Director (2008-2014) of the Center for Radiofrequency Electronics Research of Quebec. He has authored/co-authored more than 1100 referred papers and a number of books/book chapters and more than 40 patents. Dr. Wu was the general chair of the 2012 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (the largest IEEE annual conference). He was the 2016 President of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). He serves as the inaugural North-American representative in the General Assembly of the European Microwave Association (EuMA). He was the recipient of many awards and prizes including the inaugural IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award, the 2004 Fessenden Medal of the IEEE Canada, the 2009 Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2013, the 2013 FCCP Education Foundation Award of Merit, the 2014 IEEE MTT-S Microwave Application Award, the 2014 Marie-Victorin Prize (Prix du Quebec - the highest distinction of Québec in the natural sciences and engineering), the 2015 Prix d’Excellence en Recherche et Innovation of Polytechnique Montréal, and the 2015 IEEE Montreal Section Gold Medal of Achievement. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He was an IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer from Jan. 2009 to Dec. 2011.

The seminar is organized by the Division of Communication and Antenna Systems (CAS), Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology. The Host of Prof. Ke Wu (University of Montreal) is Dr. Mouhamed Abdulla and Dr. Ashraf Zaman. For more information regarding this seminar and research visit to Chalmers, please email: ma14@ieee.org.
Category Seminar
Location: Room EC, floor 4, EDIT building, Hörsalsvägen 11, Campus Johanneberg
Starts: 25 April, 2017, 15:15
Ends: 25 April, 2017, 16:00

Published: Wed 19 Apr 2017. Modified: Thu 20 Apr 2017