Distinguished Seminar: Enabling Ambient Electromagnetic Energy Harvesting for Future Internet of Things and Smart Environment

Speaker: Prof. Ke Wu, FIEEE, FCAE, FRSC
2016 President of IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S)
NSERC-Huawei Industrial Research Chair in Future Wireless Technologies
Poly-Grames Research Center, Department of Electrical Engineering
Ecole Polytechnique (University of Montreal), Canada


The roadmap evolution and historical milestones of electromagnetic energy conversion and recycling techniques and related breakthroughs are reviewed with emphasis on low-density energy harvesting technologies for IoT systems. Ambient radiofrequency (RF) energy sources are examined in connection with omnipresent wireless system deployment. The effective use and recycling of such an ambient electromagnetic energy are the most relevant and critical issue for the current and future practicability of wireless energy harvesting in support of IoT sensing hardware. In this talk, a set of performance criteria and development considerations, required to meet the IoT needs for ambient energy harvesting is derived. A technological outlook of the performances that can be expected from different device technologies is assessed. Promising devices and emerging solutions in the development of ambient energy harvesters are also presented and discussed with a special highlight of our proposed disruptive schemes, which include hybrid energy harvesting approaches and cooperative system design platforms.

Dr. Ke Wu is Professor of Electrical Engineering at Polytechnique Montreal (University of Montreal). He is also the NSERC-Huawei Industrial Research Chair in Future Wireless Technologies (the first Huawei endowed Chair in the world). He was Tier-I Canada Research Chair (2002-2016) in RF and millimeter-wave engineering. He has been the Director of Poly-Grames Research Center and the Founding Director (2008-2014) of the Center for Radiofrequency Electronics Research of Quebec. He has authored/co-authored more than 1100 referred papers and a number of books/book chapters and more than 40 patents. Dr. Wu was the general chair of the 2012 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (the largest IEEE annual conference). He was the 2016 President of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). He serves as the inaugural North-American representative in the General Assembly of the European Microwave Association (EuMA). He was the recipient of many awards and prizes including the inaugural IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award, the 2004 Fessenden Medal of the IEEE Canada, the 2009 Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2013, the 2013 FCCP Education Foundation Award of Merit, the 2014 IEEE MTT-S Microwave Application Award, the 2014 Marie-Victorin Prize (Prix du Quebec - the highest distinction of Québec in the natural sciences and engineering), the 2015 Prix d’Excellence en Recherche et Innovation of Polytechnique Montréal, and the 2015 IEEE Montreal Section Gold Medal of Achievement. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He was an IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer from Jan. 2009 to Dec. 2011.

The seminar is organized by the Division of Communication and Antenna Systems (CAS), Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology. The Host of Prof. Ke Wu (University of Montreal) is Dr. Mouhamed Abdulla. For more information regarding this seminar and research visit to Chalmers, please email: ma14@ieee.org.

Category Seminar
Location: Room EA, floor 4, EDIT building, Hörsalsvägen 11, Campus Johanneberg
Starts: 27 April, 2017, 15:15
Ends: 27 April, 2017, 16:00

Published: Tue 18 Apr 2017. Modified: Thu 20 Apr 2017