Swedish Theoretical Chemistry 2017, Göteborg 16-18 August
Photo: © Per Pixel Petersson/ Göteborg & Co

Swedish Theoretical Chemistry 2017 – Bridging gaps

Annual meeting of the Swedish Chemical Society Theoretical Chemistry Section, Göteborg 16-18 August

Welcome to Swedish Theoretical Chemistry 2017, which is held at Chalmers University of Technology August 16-18, 2017. The theme of the conference is “Bridging gaps”. The gaps that will be in the focus during the conference is on one hand the gaps between high level quantum Chemistry results and macroscopic measurable quantities. Another gap is the possibility to extend the range of atomic descriptions by embedding schemes. A third gap is the traditional differences to tackle the challenge of quantum mechanical calculations within Chemistry and Physics which recently has been reduced by mixing  wavefunction and electron density functional calculations.

The Björn Roos award and the Inga Fischer-Hjalmars award will be announced during the symposium. The Björn Roos award is awarded every three years to a scientist who has shown excellence within the development or application of theoretical chemistry methods. The Inga Fischer-Hjalmars award is awarded to the most eminent PhD thesis within theoretical chemistry defended in 2016.

Important dates

24 June Deadline abstract submission
18 July
Deadline hotel reservation at conference rate
1 August
Deadline registration

​Keynote lectures:

Cristiana DI VALENTIN, Universita di Milano Bicocca
Michael FINNIS, Imperial Collage London
Trygve HELGAKER, Oslo University
Carmen HERRMANN, University of Hamburg
Peter KUSALIK, University of Calgary
Konstantin NEYMAN, ICREA, Barcelona
Elsebeth SCHRÖDER, Chalmers University of Technology
Avital SHURKI, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

Local organizers:

Scientific committee:

Itai Panas, Chalmers University of Technology (Chair) Leif Eriksson, Gothenburg University
Henrik Grönbeck, Chalmers University of Technology Kersti Hermansson, Uppsala University
Peter Ahlström, University of Borås Fahmi Himo, Stockholm University
Roland Lindh, Uppsala University
Patrick Norman, Royal Institute of Technology
Michael Odelius, Stockholm University
David van der Spoel, Uppsala University
Per-Olof Westlund, Umeå University

Page manager Published: Wed 09 Aug 2017.