2013 Mildred Dresselhaus

The Gothenburg Physics Centre proudly presents Mildred Dresselhaus, Institute Professor emerita of Electrical Engineering and Physics at MIT, as the winner of the 2013 Gothenburg Lise Meitner Prize. 

The Nominations Committee's motivation

Mildred Dresselhaus is awarded the 2013 Gothenburg Lise Meitner Prize for groundbreaking discoveries revealing the fundamental properties of carbon.

About Mildred Dresselhaus - "The Queen of Carbon"

Prof. Dresselhaus has always liked to be challenged with the hard questions. She took an early interest in the fundamental properties of carbon, and especially graphite, before anyone else thought it could be a fruitful area of study, which made the field wide open at the time. That was half a century ago. Later on it would be proved that she laid the foundations for research that yielded two Nobel Prizes, for buckyballs in 1996 and the material graphene in 2010. 
With a long and esteemed career in physics Dresselhaus' list of awards and prestigious memberships grows long. To name just a few she is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Physical Society, the Society of Women Engineers, and has served as President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has received numerous awards, one of the most notable being the US National Medal of Science (1990) and most recently the Enrico Fermi Award (2012) and the Kavli Prize (2012).
Overcoming the difficulties of a disadvantaged background and beginning a career in a discipline known to have beendirectly hostile towards women in the 1950's, she has served as a role model to many other young scientists within physics and engineering. With a passion for teaching Mildred Dresselhaus has fostered and graduated over 60 PhD students. She has received no less than 28 honorary doctorates worldwide.
Besides physics, Mildred Dresselhaus also has a passion for music. At the age of 83 she is still active in chamber music groups, where she plays the violin or the viola.

Notable Awards

Selected Publications

 ■ M. S. Dresselhaus and P. C. Eklund, Phonons in Carbon Nanotubes, Advances in Physics 49, 705-814 (2000).
■ A. Jorio, G. Dresselhaus, M. S. Dresselhaus, M. Souza, M. S. S. Dantas, M. A. Pimenta, A. M. Rao, R. Saito, C. Liu, and H. M. Cheng, Polarized Raman Study of Single Wall Semiconducting Carbon Nanotubes, Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 2617-2620 (2000).
■ A. Jorio, R. Saito, J. H. Hafner, C. M. Lieber, M. Hunter, T. McClure, G. Dresselhaus, and M. S. Dresselhaus, Structural (n,m) determination of isolated single wall carbon nanotubes by resonant Raman scattering, Phys. Rev. Lett. 86, 1118-1121 (2001).
■ A. Jorio, A. G. Souza Filho, G. Dresselhaus, M. S. Dresselhaus, R. Saito, J. H. Hafner, C. M. Lieber, F. M. Matinaga, M. S. S. Dantas, and M. A. Pimenta, Joint density of electronic states for one isolated single wall carbon nanotube studied by resonant Raman scattering, Phys. Rev. B 63, 245416 (2001).
■ A. G. Souza Filho, A. Jorio, J. H. Hafner, C. M. Lieber, R. Saito, M. A. Pimenta, G. Dresselhaus, and M. S. Dresselhaus, Electronic transition energy Eii for an isolated (n,m) single-wall carbon nanotube obtained by anti-Stokes/Stokes resonant Raman intensity ratio, Phys. Rev. B 63, 241404R (2001).
■ M. S. Dresselhaus, G. Dresselhaus, A. Jorio, A. G. Souza Filho, and R. Saito, Raman Spectroscopy of Isolated Single Wall Carbon Nanotubes, Carbon (2002). Submitted 10/13/01: LRR-66/01.

Page manager Published: Fri 24 Jan 2014.