Manufacturing Processes

In this profile we focus on research regarding environmentally benign, resource and energy efficient manufacturing processes for traditional and new materials. Some examples are new techniques to create high performance sintered products and lead-free brass. Additive manufacturing of metals is a new active field.

Profile leader
Prof Lars Nyborg
lars.nyborg@chalmers.se
+46-31-772 12 57
 

Active research fields  

Active fields are addressing current issues and are therefore adjusted over time. These are the present active fields within Manufacturing Systems:


Additive manufacturing

Additive manufacturing, or 3D metal printing, can supplement or replace traditional manufacturing by enabling lighter weight structures with less material, smaller batches and a higher degree of customization. Research will focus on metal materials and components with inner structure made with 3D printing techniques. That includes powder metallurgy, the design of appropriate internal structures for various mechanical applications, numerical analysis and optimization, production of test materials, and mechanical testing of the manufactured material to determine the elastic, plastic and fatigue properties.
Contact:
Prof Lars Nyborg, e-mail: lars.nyborg@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 12 57​​
Prof Christer Persson, e-mail: , phone: +46-31-772 12 51
Assoc Prof Eduard Hryha, e-mail: hryha@chalmers.se​, phone: 031-772 27 41

Components manufacturing and surface

Research in this active field is focused on modern machining processes and powder technological methods. In particular, the research combines theory development, realization of novel processing and increased knowledge of materials-related aspects in manufacturing, aiming at tailoring of processes for product optimization and minimizing​ of processing stages. The field​ includes a close cooperation with Lund University.
Contact:
Prof Lars Nyborg, e-mail: lars.nyborg@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 12 57
Prof Jan-Eric Ståhl, e-mail: jan-eric.stahl@iprod.lth.se, phone: +46-46-222 85 95 

 

Micro-fabrication

The research in this field aims at facilitating a solid base for formation of a large scale manufacturing industry based on new innovative materials and process concepts for micro-fabrication. The activities include concept formulation, research and industrial scale development of metal-nano-polymer composite material and its related manufacturing process technology. The field also includes studies on production methods and materials for energy storage based on carbon nano-materials, especially for so-called "super capacitors".
Contact:
Prof Johan Liu, e-mail: johan.liu@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 30 67
Ass Prof Yu Cao, e-mail: yu.cao@chalmers.se, phone: 031-772 12 52
Prof Peter Enoksson, e-mail: peter.enoksson@chalmers.se, phone: 031-772 18 68

 

Multi-physics Methods and Process Development

With the lack of reliable and efficient simulation tools for the paint shop, welding and resin infusion processes the current practice​ for validation is based on individual experience and physical measurements. The research in this active field therefore focuses on new virtual tools for verification of these processes and to optimize them to be more environmentally friendly, energy and cost efficient, and to give a higher product quality.
Contact:
Ass prof Fredrik Edelvik, e-mail: fredrik.edelvik@fcc.chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 42 46
Prof Håkan Nilsson, e-mail: hakan.nilsson@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 14 14
Prof Ragnar Larsson, e-mail: ragnar.larsson@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 52 67

Process modeling and new materials 

Here the focus is on modeling and numerical simulation (finite element method) of manufacturing processes such as machining and welding. The goal is a sustainable manufacturing process where all processes are modeled virtually before use. Research is therefore focused on creating a base for realistic modeling of manufacturing processes (e.g. machining) using multi-scale approach, finite element approaches and to validate developed models with dedicated experiments.
Contact:
Prof Ragnar Larsson, e-mail: ragnar.larsson@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 52 67
Prof Lennart Josefson, e-mail: lennart.josefson@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 15 07
Prof Christer Persson, e-mail: christer.persson@chalmers.se, phone: +46-31-772 12 51
Prof Peter Krajnik, e-mail: peter.krajnik@chalmers.se, phone: 031-772 13 11
Prof Uta Klement, e-mail: uta.klement@chalmers.se​, phone: 031-772 12 64​


You might also be interested in what we do within Production Systems or Product Development​.

 

Published: Tue 22 Mar 2011. Modified: Tue 01 Nov 2016