Foundation Award

2013 award winnerFoto: Oscar Mattsson
The Foundation Award 2013 is given to Jari Kinaret at the department of Applied physics.
The price is given to him for his extraordinary work with the pilot project Graphene-Coordinated-Action.  Jari Kinaret has, as the coordinator for the project, managed to lead the project to collect over hundred European research groups from 17 different countries so that the European Commission chose Graphene as one of Europe’s first 10-year, 1,0​00 million euro FET flagships (Future and Emerging Technology Flagships).
What is the Foundation Award?
An important task of the Chalmers University of Technology Foundation is to stimulate the development of the University's activities. For a number of years the Foundation has contributed to quality and renewal through funding within selected areas. The Foundation Award was established to highlight in particular the crucial importance of Chalmers employees to the success of the University and to focus on examples that act as a source of inspiration. The Award is presented to one person each year and was presented for the first time in 2006.
The Foundation Award is presented annually to a Chalmers employee for a recent and commendable achievement that has noticeably promoted the development of the University. When choosing the recipient for 2013, the Award Committee wanted to highlight in particular an achievement that had contributed to quality-enhancing internationalisation. Internationalisation at Chalmers is aimed at cross-border collaboration, increasing the quality of the work at the University and promoting development from a collective, sustainability perspective.
The Award comprises a personal payment of SEK 25,000 and an activity grant of SEK 100,000.
Previous winners
The award winner in 2006 was Olle Rutgersson for his efforts in strengthening shipping and marine technology within a short period of time. In 2007, the Award went to Lennart Lundgren for his work in making the High School Centre at Chalmers a reality. The Award in 2008 was presented to Christian Azar for his extensive collaboration with various community agencies with the aim of increasing knowledge and insight into the climate threat. The Award in 2009 went to Ulla Edvardsson for development in her role as webmaster. In 2010, the Award was presented to Lennart Vamling in recognition of his highly commendable leadership as head of department. The winner in 2011 was Jan-Olov Yxell for his outstanding contribution as a photographer. In 2012, the award went to Marie Arehag in recognition of her persistent and purposeful contribution to reinforcing the perspective-enriching elements and pedagogical quality of programmes at Chalmers.
Award Committee
The Award Committee has been appointed in consultation with the Faculty Board, the Student Union and the trade unions. The members are:
Associate Professor Ingrid Elam, Chair
Professor Catharina Dyrssen, Architecture
Professor Hans Johannesson, Product Development
Printer Erik Lindblom, Reproservice
Oskar Luvö, MScEng, Student Union
Former Member of Parliament Cecilia Nilsson, member of the Foundation Board
Secretary: Mattias Königsson, Foundation Office
If you have any questions, please contact:
Mattias Königsson, tel. 031-772 26 05





Published: Thu 27 Jun 2013.